FG Approves 20 New Private Universities


Breaking: FG Approves Establishment of 20 New Private Universities



The Federal Executive Council meeting today, Wednesday February 3, 2021, approved a memo from the Ministry of Education for the establishment of 20 new private universities across the country.

The 20 new private universities are to be given provisional licenses to run for three years while the ministry monitors and evaluates their growth.

This brings the total number of private universities in the country to 99.

See list below

  1. Topfaith University, Mkpatak, Akwa Ibom State.
  2. Thomas Adewumi University, Oko-Irese, Kwara State
  3. Maranathan University, Mgbidi, Imo State.
  4. Ave Maria University, Piyanko, Nasarawa State.
  5. Al-Istiqama University, Sumaila, Kano State.
  6. Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo State.
  7. Havilla University, Nde-Ikom, Cross River State.
  8. Claretian University of Nigeria, Nekede, Imo State.
  9. NOK University, Kachia, Kaduna State.
  10. Karl-Kumm University, Vom, Plateau State.
  1. James Hope University, Lagos, Lagos State.
  2. Maryam Abacha American University of Nigeria, Kano, Kano State.
  3. Capital City University, Kano, Kano State.
  4. Ahman Pategi University, Pategi, Kwara State.
  5. University of Offa, Offa, Kwara State.
  6. Mewar University, Masaka, Nasarawa State.
  7. Edusoko University, Bida, Niger State.
  8. Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja.
  9. Khadija University, Majia, Jigawa State.
  10. Anan University, Kwall, Plateau State.

Nine of the private universities are located in North Central, three in South South, two in South East, five of them in North West and one in South West.

Before the commencement of the Council meeting, members observed a minute of silence for two late cabinet members who died recently, Alfa Wali and Tony Momoh.

Wali, a prominent Kano State indigene and former Minister of Agriculture, died on Monday, January 25th, 2021.

He also served as Permanent Secretary in many ministries, including the Ministry of Defence.

The late Momoh was a veteran journalist and politician who was Nigerian Minister of Information and Culture during the military regime of General Ibrahim Babangida, who died on February 1, 2020, at the age of 82.

The meeting was presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari at the Council Chambers of the State House.The Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, Chief of Staff to the President, Ibrahim Gambari, and the National Security Adviser (NSA), Maj. Gen. Babagana Mongunu, as well as seven ministers physically, attended the meeting.

The ministers included Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed; Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami; Mines and Steel Development, Olamilekan Adegbite, and Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »