US Lists Nigeria Religious Intolerant


US Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo

US Designates Nine Countries including Nigeria as Religious Intolerant


The United States Government has designated Nigeria and nine other countries as countries of concern under the Religious Freedom Act of 1998 for engaging in what it describes as “systemic, ongoing, egregious religious freedom violations”. The countries include Burma, China, Eritrea, Iran, the DPRK, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan, and Turkemnistan.

This was announced the US Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo on December 7, 2020 via his official twitter handle

He said, “The US is unwavering in its commitment to religious freedom. No country or entity should be allowed to persecute people with impunity because of their beliefs. These annual designations show that when religious freedom is attacked, we act”.  


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »